Blogs referenced in the second edition of my book “Blogging”

The second edition of my book Blogging is just about to go into production, and I’ve just finished double checking all the links for the blogs referenced in the book. I’m using a lot of the same blogs as in the first edition, but there are some new ones too, as you can see. Here’s the list:

A Little Pregnant. 2003–present. Julie. http://www.alittlepregnant.com

Apophenia. 1997–present. danah boyd. http://www.zephoria.org/thoughts

Arla weblogs. 2005–present. Maja Møller, Jacob Nørgård, Tove Færch, Inge and Mikael Nørby Lassen. http://arla.dk/weblogs

The Artful Parent. 2008-present. Jean Van’t Hul. http://artfulparent.typepad.com

Ars Technica. 1998–present. Ken Fisher (ed.). http://arstechnica.com

A Whole Lotta Nothing. 2000–present. Matt Haughey. http://a.wholelottanothing.org

Barbie. 2002–2003. Mattel, Inc. http://www.myscene.com/barbie/barbie_index.asp; no longer online; use http://archive.org to access.

Barq’s – the Blog with BITE! 2005–2007. http://thebarqsman.com

Boing Boing: A Directory of Wonderful Things. 2000–present. Mark Frauenfelder, Cory Doctorow, Xeni Jardin, Joel Johnson, John Battelle, David Pescovitz. http://boingboing.net

Brooklyn Tweed. 2005–present. Jared Flood. http://brooklyntweed.net/blog/

Chronicles of Dr. Crazy. 2006. Dr. Crazy (pseud.). http://crazyphd.blogspot.com

ClickNews! 2006–present. Lynn Terry. http://www.clicknewz.com

Daily Kos. 2002–present. Markos Moulitsas (publisher/founder). http://dailykos.com

Digital Photography Blog. 2004–2008. Darren Rowse. http://www.livingroom.org.au/photolog

Dooce. 2001–present. Heather B. Armstrong. http://dooce.com

Editor: Myself. A Weblog on Iran, Technology and Pop Culture. 2002–2007. Hossein Derakhshan. http://hoder.com/weblog

Engadget. 2004–present. Peter Rojas (ed.). http://engadget.com

ExperienceCurve. 2003–present. Karl Long. http://experiencecurve.com

Flowing Data. 2007-present. Nathan Yau. http://flowingdata.com

GapingVoid. 2004–present. Hugh MacLeod. http://gapingvoid.com

Get in the Hot Spot: Naked Travel Stories and Travel Tips. 2009-present. Annabel Candy. http://www.getinthehotspot.com

Get Real. 2003–2006. Steve Boyd. http://getreal.corante.com

Get Rich Slowly. 2006–present. J.D. Roth. http://www.getrichslowly.org/blog

Gizmodo. 2002–present. Brian Lam (ed.). http://gizmodo.com

GrandTextAuto. 2003–present. Mary Flanagan, Michael Mateas, Nick Montfort, Scott Rettberg, Andrew Stern and Noah Wardrip-Fruin. http://grandtextauto.org

jill/txt. 2000–present. Jill Walker Rettberg. http://jilltxt.net

Klastrup’s Cataclysms. 2001–present. Lisbeth Klastrup. http://klastrup.dk

Kottke.org. 1998–present. Jason Kottke. http://kottke.org

KottkeKomments. 2007-2009. http://kottkekomments.com

Kuro5hin. 1999-present. Rusty Foster (founder). http://www.kuro5hin.org/

LifeHack. 2005–present. Leon Ho (ed.). http://lifehack.org

Links.net. 1994–present. Justin Hall. http://links.net

Lonelygirl15. 2006–2008. Miles Beckett, Ramesh Flinders et.al. http://lonelygirl15.com

Matt Cutts: Gadgets, Google, and SEO. 2005–present. Matt Cutts. http://www.mattcutts.com/blog

Manolo’s Shoe Blog. 2004–present. Manolo (pseud.). http://shoeblogs.com

MegNut. 1999-present. Meg Hourihan. http://megnut.com until 2012, http://megnt.tumblr.com after 2012.

Metafilter. 1999–present. Matt Haughey (ed.). http://metafilter.com

Molly.com. 2003–present. Molly Holzschlag. http://molly.com

MotherTalkers. 2006–present. Amy, Elisa, Erika and Gloria. http://mothertalkers.com

Mr Smash Goes to Washington. Mr Smash (pseud.). Blog previously titled Citizen Smash, Lt. Smash, Indepundit. 2003–2006. http://lt-smash.com

MSTechToday. Unknown–2007. Brandon LeBlanc. http://mstechtoday.com [no longer active]

Narcissism, vanity, exhibitionism, ambition, vanity, vanity, vanity. 2001–present. Diane Greco. http://home.earthlink.net/~dianegreco until 2010, http://dianegreco.blogspot.com/ after 2010.

ntcoolfool. 2006-2010. Bryce Carter. http://ntcoolfool.livejournal.com

O’Reilly Radar. 2005–present. Tim O’Reilly et.al. http://radar.oreilly.com

Penelope Trunk. 2004-present. Penelope Trunk. http://blog.penelopetrunk.com

PeterMe. 1998–present. Peter Merholz. http://peterme.com

PostSecret. 2004–present. Frank Warren (ed.). http://postsecret.com

ProBlogger. 2004–present. Darren Rowse. http://problogger.com

Quantified Self: Self Knowledge Through Numbers. 2008-present. Ernesto Ramirez, Alexandra Carmichael, Kevin Kelly, Gary Wolf, Marcia Seidler and David Masten. http://quantifiedself.com

Read/Write Web. 2003–present. Richard MacManus (ed.). http://www.readwriteWeb.com

Rebecca’s Pocket. 1999–present. Rebecca Blood. http://www.rebeccablood.net

Robot Wisdom. 1997–present. Jorn Barger. http://robotwisdom.com

Scripting News. 1997–present. Dave Winer. http://scripting.com

She’s a Flight Risk. 2003–2006. Isabella K. (pseud.). http://shes.aflightrisk.org; no longer online; use http://archive.org to access.

Shiny Shiny. 2003–present. Katie Lee (ed.). http://shinyshiny.tv

Slashdot. 1997–present. Rob ‘Cmdr Taco’ Malda, Jeff ‘Hemos’ Bates, Robin ‘Roblimo’ Miller (eds.). http://slashdot.org

Stormhoek. 2005–2009. Hugh MacLeod et.al. http://stormhoek.com

Style Bytes. 2005–2008. Agathe Bjørnsdatter. http://stylebytes.net

Successful Blogging: For Small Business Owners and Writers. 2009-present. Annabel Candy. http://www.successfulblogging.com

Tales of a Bathroom Scale. Lori. 2002–2003. http://dietchick.blogspot.com

Tama Leaver dot Net. 2007–present. Tama Leaver. http://tamaleaver.net

TechCrunch. 2005–2007. Michael Arrington (ed.). http://techcrunch.com

techPresident. 2007–present. Micah Sifry and Joshua Levy (eds.). http://techpresident.com

The Blogging Nurseryman. 2005-present. Trey Pitsenberger. http://thegoldengecko.com/blog/

The Date Project. 2002. Anonymous. http://thedateproject.blogspot.com; URL since taken over by another blogger; use http://archive.org to access original blog.

The Dullest Blog in the World. 2003–2010. Anonymous. http://www.dullestblog.com

The English Cut. 2005–present. Thomas Mahon. http://www.englishcut.com

The Social Marketer. 2010-present. NM Incite. http://nmincite.com/blog

The Quantum Pontiff. 2003–present. Dave Beacon. http://scienceblogs.com/pontiff until 2010, http://dabacon.org/pontiff/ after 2010.

The Viral Garden. 2005–present. Mark Collier. http://moblogsmoproblems.blogspot.com (this blog was recently made invitation only)

Wal-Marting Across America. 2006. Laura. http://walmartingacrossamerica.com

We’re in Debt. 2006–present. King and Queen of Debt (pseud.). http://wereindebt.com

Where is Raed? 2003–2004. Salam Pax (pseud.). http://dear_raed.blogspot.com

Zen Habits. 2007-present. Leo Babauta. http://zenhabits.net

22. March 2013 by Jill
Categories: Blogging | Leave a comment

Sorry, but comments from before December 2010 are lost in the database and I've not yet figured out how to display them properly.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *